Nostalgic sunset

Juan Luis Aracena
2 min readNov 15, 2018

--

Awake from a shake!

I was sitting in row 15 seat F; therefore I was next to the window of the plane. I was heading south, specifically to Santiago. I did not see the time, but I figured it would be six in the afternoon.

I had my Kindle in my hands, and the music flowed unceremoniously through my headphones. The dream had won me, and the reality had awakened me without hesitation.

Another shake!

I raised the window curtain thinking the worst. What I see surprises me differently.

A beautiful sunset.

The orange sky mixed with a field of clouds formed of cotton. The sun, as the creator of that image, lay unchanging, serious and imposing while we went straight to a well-formed and almost pleasant cloud.

Again, another shake!

The people were already scared. I did not know what to feel anymore. I hear that the person sitting behind leaves a quick testament engraved ending with “Viva la Católica CTM!*”

When the plane landed and then left the airport, the sky was no longer orange. But red.

The mix between the song I was listening to, the temperature of the environment, the icy air of the capital, the lights of the city and an ineffable other reason gave me a familiar, repetitive feeling that invited me to move without even move one foot at that time I still felt a sense of nostalgia.

It lasted about 4 minutes 38 seconds. I stood at the exit for about 10 seconds, for no reason I saw the time. I wanted to investigate how long it would last. I kept walking, or I would not call attention, or so I thought.

I walked to door 4 to take my taxi.

A few meters from the vehicle, I saw the receptionist next to the door. I felt something, or rather, I stopped feeling something. The nostalgia was gone, and with that, I saw the time again.

It was over.

I opened the door, I got into the taxi, I told the address of my apartment, and everything went the same.

I’ve always wondered why do evenings cause me nostalgia? And why October is nostalgic?

It must be because at the beginning of spring, and the sunsets welcome me wherever I arrive, making of that moment, a nostalgic home.

* Translate like “Go [Football club] M****rF****r.”

--

--